Skip to content
October 10, 2010 / jslipschultz

Day 29: West Plains to Poplar Bluff, MO (10/10/10)

The W Is 10-10-10 good luck or bad luck or no luck at all?  Today’s ride had a bit of everything and maybe too much of some things.  I had to pull out the “W” for some superman power after yesterday’s ride chock full of rollers (chock full–since when do I used that terminology–I’ve been out in the country too long, me thinks).  More of the Mark Twain National Forest (man, that forest is big).  We’re now just about out of the Ozarks and entering the Mississippi Valley.

About 12 miles into the ride, we had to ride through about four miles of gravel.  Always a challenge.  Then before lunch, we got another mile and a half of it, complete with 8-10% grade up and down.  I was fishtailing like I was driving on ice.  I just kept telling myself the advice Dave the Wave gave me, “Trust your wheel.”  Joseph had some tire-related flats in both sections.  Brian went down and was awarded some road rash.  Really could have used a mountain bike there, or maybe something even more robust:

 

Austin, Dave, and I tackled a majority of it together and then Austin and I finished it up.  There was wind.  There were more rollers.  And there was a flat rear tire for me.  In the process of changing it out, I lost a little chunk of my thumb.  Just a teeny weeny chunk.  Hardly miss it (except when hitting the spacebar on the keyboard–ouch).

Still enjoying good weather, good rides, good friends.  Starting to think of the end of the ride.  It will be sad to go back to normal life, but I’m certainly excited to see my family and sleep in my own bed!!

Pics:

fog gravel2  me and gravel fall colors  lunch zz gravel3  more gravel

By the numbers: 110.7 miles, 16.6 mph avg, 6:41:10 riding time, 5,479 feet of climbing; Totals so far: 2,352.8 miles, 85,859 feet

Helmet-cam footage:  Gravel riding (offensive language warning-GDI); More rollers!; And more rolling terrain

Next stop:  Union City TN, 101.2 miles (crossing through Kentucky and the Mississippi River!)

Video recap with Brit and Dana:

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Larry Kurz / Oct 11 2010 5:46 am

    Way to go. Nice blog. I am so wanting to go along. How is your heart rate? Can you keep it in your target zone? I have noticed that your average speed is going down. Is that by design? Are you taking more time and enjoying the trip more? How many calories are you eating every day? Have you lose weight?

    • jslipschultz / Oct 11 2010 10:24 pm

      Good questions Larry! Heart rate is very low. Amazingly low. 120’s to 130’s on average. I don’t even have to pay attention to it. Average speed has gone down due to rollers the past many days. Today, we would have been in the 19 mph average is the day hadn’t become a different kind of ride (due to the crash). We are slowing down a little though, in general. We are enjoying the trip at all speeds. You can only appreciate a bunch of trees so much, you know. I’m not sure on calories. But we eat A LOT! Thousands. I think I’m the same weight. Haven’t weighed myself, but my jeans feel about the same…

Leave a Reply

