Skip to content
September 13, 2010 / jslipschultz

Day 2: Santa Barbara to Valencia

Today rocked after a rocky start.  My alarm didn’t go off and I was running behind schedule this morning–but I was NOT late, Chris.  Got to start before some of the others.  Phew. 

A short 76 miler.  Felt short anyway.  We started down by the beach.  I opted to go down to the water’s edge and dip my rear wheel into the Pacific.  I few others did, too.  And then we were off.  Once we were out of the city and off Highway 101 (there is a bike lane, surprisingly), we passed a lot of farmland.  Not just oranges, but pumpkins (that picture below cost me a tube–flat!), and peppers.

team at the beach  Me at the ocean   Pumpkin patch east of Ventura

The group shook out into two or three mini groups.  Me, Joseph, Austin, Mike (going to Taos), and Bill were in the front group.  When not in little urban cities, we were hauling.  Not much climbing, some rollers here and there.  And a TAIL WIND!  Yahooo!  The guys had to slow me down when I’d be pulling them going 26 mph.  I felt great today.  We had lunch today at Mile 50 in the parking lot to a farm.  (We eat where they can park the vans).  Great lunch–had to make sure I didn’t overeat (not fun to eat too much and ride at 22 mph).  It started out cool (hence the arm warmers and vest), but by lunchtime, it was awesome (and 89 by 2:00 when we finished).

Lunch at Mile 50   view at lunch   Mile 60ish.

By the way, I tried to embed Joseph’s helmet-cam footage into my blog last night.  Didn’t show up when I published the blog.  Here’s a link to one of his files from Day 1:  http://contour.com/node/110016.  Here are helmet-cam moments from today: http://contour.com/node/110249 http://contour.com/node/110189

By the numbers:  76 miles, avg speed: 18.8 (out of cities, probably 21-22, in cities 15.), climbing: 2,461 feet.  Riding time: 4:03.

Sorry, no video today.  Too many problems with youtube.  Not sure why.  Better luck tomorrow.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Gini Dietrich / Sep 13 2010 8:17 pm

    In that last photo of you, the shadow of the trees make it look like you have long hair!

  2. Sarah / Sep 13 2010 8:39 pm

    Jeff, the helmet cam link worked great! Looks like amazing weather there. Hot and SUPER humid here today, so enjoy it for us. I’m texting Matthew in St. Louis so he knows it’s up there. I know he wanted to watch. My favorite part is the guy who said, “I’m ready for a beer.” 😉

Leave a Reply

