Skip to content
September 11, 2010 / jslipschultz

Day 0: Arrival in Santa Barbara

As the plane was being pushed away from the gate, many thoughts rolled through my head.  Primarily, “Are you crazy? Why are you doing this?”  Two questions I’m not sure I can answer right now.  No turning back now anyway.

Flying WestAs I looked out the window along the way, I saw terrain like this and wondered, “How the heck am I going to bike through that?  I sure hope these guides know the best way.”

On the plane, I was reading “Roadie: The Misunderstood World of a Bike Racer” by Jamie Smith (thanks for lending to me, Chris).  So funny that Chapter 3 would have this apropos picture:

Back by Oct

Had dinner with three of the riders tonight:  Joseph from Guam, William from Virginia, and Bill from North Carolina.  We talked about our training and our expectations.  Nice guys.  Should be good company. 

By the numbers:

5 whole miles today.  Just tested out the bike (I reassembled it–never know) by riding to a new friends’ house in S.B.  Brian and his wife, Diana, are riding the tour with us. 

Video recap: www.youtube.com/watch?v=vWRqnouPTRo

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Sarah / Sep 12 2010 9:57 am

    Hang tough, Jeff! We’re all excited for you!! Looking forward to the updates as you can post them.

Leave a Reply

