Skip to content
June 7, 2007 / jslipschultz

Training down to the wire…

As the big day of departure approaches, the training has intensified.  Thanks to the many friends who have accompanied me on several rides, I have done everything from riding up and down one hill 20 times, to a rainy day bicyclist's workout, to some killer runs with strong riders.

In the last 10 days, I have logged close to 11 hours on the bike.  May not seem like much, but some of these were rides such as:

Hilly ride of 38.5 miles in 2:16, a sprint (with a few big hills) of 25.4 miles in 1:16, another ride of two hours (over 30 miles) with a stop at the bike shop midway to tune up the bike some more, another ride of 2:27 and 45 miles.  And another sprint of 25 miles in 1:17 including a few races up some huge hills.  Thursday will be another longer ride.  And then the weekend rides.  By Sunday, I may have put in 340 miles since May 26th (not including a few indoor workouts).  Then it's time to scale back a little.

I'm feeling as if I'm as ready as I'm going to be.  Again, thanks to all my fellow riders helping push me to this level.

I also thank my family who has put up with my focus on training…

P.S.  As a little teaser of things to come to this blog, here's one of the views we will be seeing…

We're going to be staying at a wonderful place called la Rosina  www.larosina.it/rosina/ 

Val S. Floriano

 

Read and post comments

Leave a Reply

